Showing posts with label Kanto. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Kanto. Show all posts

10/27/2016

Ganjoji Itabashi Kanto Pilgrims

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Ganjooji 願成寺 Ganjo-Ji

Nr. 36 清安山 板橋不動院 Itabashi Fudo-In - Ganjo-Ji
- 安産子育不動尊 - Anzan Koyasu Fudo
Seianzan 清安山 不動院 Fudo-In
Ibaraki prefecture 意密の道場 - imitsu

. 北関東三十六不動尊霊場
36 Fudo Temples in Northern Kanto .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



2370-1 Itabashi, Tsukubamirai / 茨城県つくばみらい市板橋2370

- quote -
Itabashi Fudo-son,
or formally named Seian-san Ganjoji Fudoin Temple, is a temple of Shingon Sect. The temple was established by the great priest Kukai in 808. It had been burnt down by several fires, and in the 16th century, the temple was rebuilt by a high ranked Shingon Sect priest. The Fudo-son (the Buddhist divinity of fire) at this temple is worshipped by a lot of people for his power of bringing about easy delivery and successful childcare.
There are a lot of cultural properties at this temple including National Important Cultural Properties of the statues of Fudo Myoo and Ryo-doji, both of which were carved by Kukai himself, and prefectural Important Cultural Properties of the Main Hall, Sakura-Gate, and the 3-story Pagoda. The 3-story Pagoda was renovated in 1996.
This is one of the few temples in the prefecture which are composed of seven major buildings.
- source : nippon-kichi.jp -



- Map of the buildings

三重塔  three-storied pagoda

谷原大師八十八ヶ所霊場
walking the 88 pilgrim temples, Yawara Daishi

.......................................................................



:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


shuin 朱印 stamp



CLICK for more photos !

- - - - - Homepage of the temple
- source : fudouin.webnode.jp

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- - - - - Yearly Festivals 年中行事


1月1日~7日   初詣で護摩祈祷
1月28日      初不動 お開帳
2月節分       豆まき お開帳
8月10日      施餓鬼法要
11月1日~30日 七五三成長祈願              
11月28日     秋大縁日お開帳

毎月28日      縁日護摩祈祷

毎日   安産子育・成長安全
赤ちゃん初詣り、厄年厄除
自動車交通安全祈祷

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


- - - reference : itabashi fudo-in - - -


. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Introduction .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Narita Fudo 成田不動尊 .
Temple Shinshooji 新勝寺 Shinsho-Ji

. O-Mamori お守り Amulets and talismans from Japan . 

. Japanese Temples - ABC list - .


[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
- #ganjoji #itabashifudo -
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

3/26/2015

Senryu-Ji North Kanto 13

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Senryuuji 泉龍寺 Senryu-Ji

Nr. 13 御瀧山 - 明王院 Myo-O In 泉龍寺 - Otome Fudo 乙女不動尊
泉龍寺 Senryu-Ji
Tochigi prefecture 口密の道場 - kumitsu

. 北関東三十六不動尊霊場
36 Fudo Temples in Northern Kanto .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


. . . CLICK here for Photos !

栃木県小山市乙女1-25-8 / 1 Chome-25-8 Otome, Oyama-shi, Tochigi

The temple has been founded by Rooben 良弁 Roben in 765.
The bell tower has been reconstructed in 1844.
There is also a Benzaiten Pond 弁財天池 and Hyotan Pond ひょうたん池 in the precincts.



. 良弁僧正 Roben Sojo .
(689 - 773)



- source and more photos : rsjjr083

Dragon carving above the entry

.......................................................................


mizukake Otome Fudo 水掛け乙女不動尊 in the compound


source : okuno san - facebook

The main Fudo Statue has been declared a sacred and hidden by Saint Akimoto 淳元上人 in 1714 during a reconstruction of the temple. It is hidden behind the closed doors of its sanctuary and should not been shown again. Later it was shown every 25 years.
The statue is 5尺 high.
Before showing the statue, there are special rituals to be performed
omoirkae, o-morikae 御守替 and kangen omorikae 還元御守替.

When the statue had to be re-located to the main hall due to repair work in its own hall in the beginning of the Showa period, many unmarried men of the village had to perform severe purification rituals before carrying the statue to the main hall - and later back to the repaired Fudo Hall.

The next showing of the statue 本尊大開帳 is scheduled for 2016.

In the summer of 1995 the Fudo Hall was hit by lightning and a fire started. Thanks to the quick action of the head priest, the statue was transported outside and the Fudo had again shown his power of hibuse - surviving a fire.
The following year the burned beams and decorations of the temple were renewed and now the Fudo Statue is in its own space again.


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

「御瀧山泉龍寺不動尊縁起絵巻伝」
Scroll about the History of the Fudo Temple



Once upon a time,
an unknown monk came to the lake of Chuzen-Ji in Nikko to make ablutions in the waters and pray. After 100 days his vow was fulfilled. On the surface of the lake he saw a beautiful light coming near him. It was a statue of Fudo Myo-O - says the legend.
The monk was overwhelmed with joy and cried, taking the statue in his arms. Then he followed flow of the river, walking down the waterfall, all the way South. He prayed:
"Please, please let me find the right place where I can be of help to all people past, present and future."

During the daytime he walked down at the riverside, at night he slept in the wilderness, always trusting the bond he had established with Fudo Myo-O.
Then one day, when he had reached the small hamlet of Otome 乙女の里, the statue of Fudo Myo-O suddenly became very heavy and he could not continue walking. He placed the statue by his side to rest for a while.
When he tried to pick it up again, the statue had become so heavy it would not move any more.

Now the monk was convinced this was the region Fudo Myo-O had choose for him. So he asked the local people for their permission to build a hall for Fudo and placed the statue there for worship.
The place is now called 不動塚 Fudo Zuka - Fudo Mound in Otome Kanzawa 乙女寒沢.
The Fudo Hall has changed place a few more times and is now at its present location at Fudo Hara 不動原 in the compound of temple 泉龍寺 Senryu-Ji. According to ancient records, the temple had been constructed in 1333.

During the 南北朝 Nanboku Period around 1333 there was a lot of fighting of the Oyama clan 小山義政 (Oyama Yoshimasa, ? - 1382) and the temple was burned down, but the statue was never damaged. So people began to call it

hibuse no Fudo 火伏せの不動 Fudo preventing fire
Fudo protecting from fire
and believed in his power more and more.
- - - - - By the way
during repair work in the Showa period, they found a small part on his back side scorched by fire.

During the Edo period when Tokugawa Ieyasu passed the region he gave some land to the temple and Fudo, 「不動仏供領」.
Later they built a landing place for boats carrying construction wood for the building of the Toshogu Shrine in Nikko.

In the Mid-Edo period around 1721 the Fudo Hall was in dire need of repair. So the head priest of that time, Saint Akimoto 淳元上人 decided to built it anew. Many people offered money or gold, others came to work for free. Once the hall was finished, the statue was placed behind closed doors as a hidden statue, 秘仏 hibutsu .


- - - - - Homepage of the temple
- source : otome_senryuuji



. Hibuse 火伏不動尊 Fudo preventing fire .

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- - - - - Yearly Festivals 年中行事

1月  元朝護摩供・初詣
2月  初不動護摩供
3月  春彼岸
5月  蛇祭り
7月  夏不動護摩供・朝顔市 Summer Fudo Festival
8月  お盆
9月  秋彼岸

- - - - - others
御守替斎戒沐浴水行
還元御守替斎戒沐浴水行
入仏式
御開帳(または御開扉)


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



source : gkohun.world.coocan.jp

There is also a kofun mound called
Otome Kanzawa Kofun 乙女寒沢古墳
in Oyama Town.
栃木県小山市乙女947. - 小山市寒沢古墳

It is about 20 meters in diameter and 3.5 m high.
Said to be from the early to mid-Jomon period.
Close to it is a shrine for Inari 稲荷神社.


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


- - - reference - - -


. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Introduction .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Narita Fudo 成田不動尊 .
Temple Shinshooji 新勝寺 Shinsho-Ji

. O-Mamori お守り Amulets and talismans from Japan . 

. Japanese Temples - ABC list - .


[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
- #fudosenryuji #senryuji -
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

1/28/2015

Shoshin-Ji North Kanto 20

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Shooshinji 崇真寺 Shoshin-Ji

Nr. 20 稲毛山 Inagetasan - 金剛王院 Kongo-In
Kai-un Inukiri Fudo 開運犬切り不動尊
Fudo who killed a Dog

Tochigi prefecture 口密の道場 - kumitsu

. 北関東三十六不動尊霊場
36 Fudo Temples in Northern Kanto .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. . . CLICK here for Photos !


1400 Inageta, Haga, Haga District, Tochigi
稲毛田山 金剛王院 崇真寺
栃木県芳賀郡芳賀町大字稲毛田1400

In the compound of the temple, there is also a


O-hyakudo Fudo お百度不動
Fudo of the 100 prayers circuit


and a scroll of
Byakue Kannon Bosatsu 白衣観音 Byaku-E Kannon




絹本著色白衣観音像の掛軸
source : town.haga.tochigi.jp



. "100 prayers circuit" (百度参り hyakudo mairi) .
- Introduction -

.......................................................................



The Fudo statue of this temple is secret and only shown once in 60 years.
- source : onsanmaya.at.webry.info

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



- - - - - Homepage of the temple
- source : town.haga.tochigi.jp


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- - - - - The legend of
犬切り不動 Fudo who killed a dog
Once upon a time in a temple in Japan
there lived a young priest called Sanchin さんちん, who was quite prone to play pranks and he also liked to eat a lot.

One day san Sanchin was cleaning the main temple hall, he realized that the manju rice cakes, offerings to Fudo Myo-O in the hall, had disappeared. When he reported this to the head priest, he told him "Well, go and search them."
This happened a few more times and the head priest finally thought that Sanchin was the thief, since he liked to eat rice cakes.
"Next time the rice cakes are gone, you will have to leave my temple" he told the acolyte in anger.

One day one of the parishioners had come to bring rice cakes as offerings for Fudo Myo-O. Sanchin, worried about being driven away from the temple, took a large broom and hid behind the hall. waiting for the thief.

That evening, when Sanchan was already half asleep, there was a noise : gattari ガタリ.
When Sanchin looked in the direction of the noise, he saw the floor plank had moved a little and a huge dog had come out. When the huge dog jumpet to Sanchin and bite into his foot, Fudo Myo-O blinked with his wild eyes, moved his large sword and hit the dog.

Next morning when the head priest came into the hall he found Sanchin bleeding on the floor. He asked what happened and Sanchin told him the story of the monster dog. And quite true, on the floor there was also the body of this huge monster dog. And blood dripped from the sword of Fudo Myo-O.
Now it was clear,
the rice cake offerings had been stolen by the huge dog !



As long as the dog had stolen his offerings, Fudo Myo-O had turned a blind eye on the happenings. But when the dog attacked the innocent Sanchin, Fudo got angry and helped him to show he was innocent and saved his life.

That is why the statue of this Fudo is now called
"Fudo Myo-O who killed a dog".
source : manga mukashibanashi


. Legends about Fudo Myo-O 不動様 .

.................................................................................


. 犬突き不動 Inu-tsuki Fudo, Fudo piercing a dog  .
慈恩寺 Jion-Ji Yamagata 山形県
Once a mad dog appeared and caused a lot of trouble.
So Fudo took his sword and stabbed the dog to kill him.


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


- - - reference - - -


. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Introduction .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Narita Fudo 成田不動尊 .
Temple Shinshooji 新勝寺 Shinsho-Ji

. O-Mamori お守り Amulets and talismans from Japan . 

. Japanese Temples - ABC list - .


[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

10/06/2014

Yokohama Naritasan

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Yokohama Naritasan 横浜成田山
Nr. 03 成田山 Naritasan 延命院 Enmei-In
- 横浜別院 Yokohama Betsu-In 


Kanagawa 神奈川県
発心の道場 The first round: Awakening your heart

. 北関東三十六不動尊霊場
36 Fudo Temples in Kanto / Bando .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



横浜市中区野毛町の成田山横浜別院
Kanagawa-ken, Yokohama-shi, Naka-ku, Nogechō, 3 Chome

- quote
The treasured Buddha statue of the Tokugawa family, Fudo Myo-o, which is said to fulfill people’s wishes is enshrined.
The temple is located on a hill, and offers views of the town of Noge and the Minatomirai area. The temple grounds also include Daishido (Founder’s Hall) where Kobo Daishi (another name for Kukai) is enshrined, Inarido, and old Buddha statues offering an enjoyable walk.

This is not a temple that is steeped in ancient history. It was set up around 150 years ago in 1870 as a satellite temple in Yokohama to the very famous Shinsho-ji Temple in Narita, near Narita airport. Apparently, this temple is famous as a holy ground for the warding off of bad omens and other kinds of evil influences. One can’t help wonder when looking at the historical timeline, how much the arrival of Commodore Perry and his black ships in Yokohama Bay influenced its hasty creation.

The buildings and statues here are not ‘ancient’ by any means, but they are quite old. This is a largish neighborhood-type temple where local business people and residence come to pray from time to time during the year. Indeed, you might be surprised at how completely surrounded by office buildings and apartment buildings the temple has become over the years. It is quite busy at the year-end and year beginning as people visit to celebrate and pray for the health and success of themselves and loved ones. They also come to buy the temple’s amulets and talismans, good luck charms that are said to be popular in the area.

Walk around the grounds and take note of the various building that house statues and alter. The temple has quite a few smaller outdoor statues as well, many of them dressed in red. Like many temples and shrines in Japan, the temple also sells food and drinks—depending on the season and whether or not a festival or ceremony is in progress.
- source : www.yokohamajapan.com/- Larry Knipfing


- Chant of the temple
ありがたや 成田み山に まいみるは
ごまのけむりに あうぞ うれしき


.......................................................................


- - - Fudo Myo-O in the garden






- - - - - - - - - -







- source and photos : blogs.yahoo.co.jp/jinjin_tsuka

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::








- O-mamori お守り amulets






- - - - - Homepage of the temple
- source : yokohamanaritasan.com

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- - - - - Yearly Festivals 年中行事

1月1日元旦 ー 元朝大護摩御修行 January 1 - Fire Ritual
1月28日 - 初不動 - First Fudo Ritual
2月3日~9日 - 星まつり特別大護摩祈祷会
4月1日~8日 - 花まつり甘茶接待 - Hana Matsuri
5月1日~5日 - 春の大祭 - Great Spring Festival
10月1日~31日 - 七五三祝祷御加持 Shichi Go San Festival
12月28日 - 納め不動 - Last Fudo Ritual

- MORE
- source : yokohamanaritasan.com/gyouji

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

The temple was under construction when Typhoon 18 hit the Kanto region in October 2014.

- quote
Powerful typhoon leaves 7 dead, 5 missing, in deluge of record rainfall
The 18th typhoon of the season blew itself out after racing across the Japanese archipelago, claiming seven lives, injuring 49 others and leaving five missing.

The typhoon, known as Phanfone outside Japan, made landfall in Hamamatsu, Shizuoka Prefecture, just after 8 a.m. on Oct. 6. It swept across central Japan, bringing heavy rains and triggering mass evacuations, before re-entering the Pacific Ocean off the east coast of Ibaraki Prefecture around 1 p.m.



A 25-year-old Buddhist monk was confirmed dead on Oct. 7 after he was found under a collapsed hall of the Naritasan Yokohama Betsuin temple in Yokohama's Naka Ward that was hit by a landslide on Oct. 6.
...
Yokohama recorded 310 mm in the 24 hours until 10:40 a.m. that day. Nine locations in Ibaraki, Kanagawa and Shizuoka prefectures were lashed with record rainfall in a 24-hour period.
- source : ajw.asahi.com/article


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


- - - reference - - -


. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Introduction .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Narita Fudo 成田不動尊 .
Temple Shinshooji 新勝寺 Shinsho-Ji

. O-Mamori お守り Amulets and talismans from Japan . 

. Japanese Temples - ABC list - .


[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

8/22/2014

Nikko Hotokeiwa

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Nikko Hotokeiwa 日光仏岩 "Buddha rock" in Nikko
Hotoke-Iwa

- quote
Hotoke-iwa - Buddha Crag - 開山堂仏岩
Priest Shoto 勝道上人 - Shodo Shonin (see below) passed away on March 1st of 817. He was cremated in the valley of crags, which was located near the kaizan-do hall of the founder.

A small and vermilion lacquered hall was built to enshrine Shoto. That shrine is today's Kaizan-doh hall. Wooden image of Bosatsu and seated image of Priest Shoto are enshrined in the Kaizan-doh hall. It is told that those images were made in the Muromachi period. Also, wooden images of ten pupils of Shoto are put on the right and left of the principal image. Rites of Kaizan ceremony are carried out in the hall on April 1st.

There is Gorin-to tower 五輪塔 in the place of Shoto's tomb. Three other tombs are also put there, but these are for his followers. The Gorin-toh tower stands on the back of Kaizan-doh hall.



The crag on the back of Kaizan-doh is called Hotoke-iwa, which means Buddha Crag. Rocks of the crag were like Buddha, but these collapsed during an earthquake. Today, 6 stone images of Buddha are put on hollow place, located on the back of Kaizan-doh hall.
One of the statues is Fudo Myo-O 六部天(1体は不動明王).
- source : www.nikko-jp.org/english

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::












Look at details of the other statues here :
- source : www.geocities.jp/kawai24 -

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Shoodoo Shoonin 勝道上人 Shodo Shonin .
(735 - 817) - Introduction -
started the mountain worship in Nikko

. Nikkoo Kaidoo 日光街道 Nikko Kaido Road .

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. - Join Fudo Myo-O on facebook - Fudō Myō-ō .

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Fudo Pilgrims .



[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
- #shotoshonin #saintshotonikko -
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

8/11/2014

Miminashi Arakawa

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Miminashi Fudoo 耳無不動 "Fudo without ears"

Tokyo, Arakawa ward - 荒川区荒川3-22
三峰神社境内にある - 袈裟塚の耳無不動

kesazuka no miminashi Fudo 袈裟塚の耳無不動

This special mound for kesa priest's robes is in the compound of Mitsumine Shrine in Arakawa ward, Tokyo.

It used to be in the compound of temple Senkooin 仙光院 Senko-In.

.......................................................................




This mound has been built by priest Kooe 光慧法師 Ko-E of the temple 仙光院 Senko-In. Ko-E was involved with the pleasure quarters of Yoshiwara in Edo.
The story was even published "三河島御不動之記".

Ko-E was a samurai from Fukuoka, Yanagawa Han 福岡県柳川市. His name was Tana-Ami Kosaburo 田名網 光三郎.
He had a beautiful fiance, O-Kinu お絹, but as life goes, she was seduced by 佐野兵馬 Sano Hyoma and taken to Edo with him. Kosaburo went after them to kill him (adauchi 仇討ち), but O-Kinu had already been sold to the Yoshiwara pleasure quarters. So the two could not meet again.

Kosaburo gave up normal life and became a Buddhist priest at temple 上野寛永寺 Kanei-Ji in Ueno, taking on the name of 光慧 Ko-E.

As life goes, he comes to meet the prostitute 紅山 Momijiyama, who was in fact his former fiance O-Kinu and begins to visit her frequently. He spent a lot of money from the temple Kanei-Ji and was dispelled from there finally.
With the help of 植木屋久兵衛 Uekiya Kyubei from 三河島村 Mikawashima village (now part of Arakawa, Tokyo) he became the head priest of the temple Senko-In. By that time, Ko-E had already contacted a severe illness (maybe pestilence 悪疫 or a veneral disease? ) and his earlobes had fallen off.

With a wish to be healed, he built a mound on the access road to his temple, called it Kesazuka 袈裟塚 and erected a stone statue of Fudo Myo-O. Even this would not heal his illness and he died in 宝暦7 1757.
O-Kinu, who had become a Buddhist nun, followed him soon by stabbing her neck near a pine tree at the temple gate.

In 1764 Tomoeya Densuke 巴屋伝助 from the New Quarters of Yoshiwara performed rituals for the souls of Ko-E and O-Kinu. From that time on, somehow, this Fudo had become known for healing veneral diseases (karyuubyoo 花柳病 karyubo "illness of flowers and willows) and many people from the pleasure quarters came here to pray.



The statue of Fudo on this mound does not have the left ear.



Now the statue is also venerated by people to cure ear diseases. People offer a wooden rice bowl with a hole to make their wish.


. kesa 袈裟 kasaya - Monk's robe .
- Introduction -


. Amulets for Health . 


. Mimi 耳 amulets for ears .
Mimigo Okami 耳明大神
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



- Japanese reference -


.......................................................................


ー Not to mix with :
. Mitsumine Jinja 三峰神社 Mitsumine Shrine .  
in Chichibu 秩父
298-1 Mitsumine, Saitama Prefecture 369-1902

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. miminashi Jizo 耳なし地蔵 Jizo without ears .
大原山 Daigensan - 不動院 Fudo-In, Fukuoka

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. - Join Fudo Myo-O on facebook - Fudō Myō-ō .

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Fudo Pilgrims .



[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

7/22/2014

Todoroki temple

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Todoroki 等々力 Fudo in Edo

. Edo no taki 江戸の滝 waterfalls in Edo .  
- Introduction -

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Todoroki Fudo 等々力不動尊
東京都世田谷区等々力1丁目22−47 - Seatagaya


- quote
Todoroki Fudo Temple,
Todoroki valley and waterfall, a Heian era temple and sacred spot for mountain ascetics in Setagaya, Tokyo

Todoroki Valley (等々力渓谷, todoroki keikoku) is located in Setagaya, Tokyo…in a surprisingly urban setting – although located just by Kanpachi driveway (Tokyo loop driveway 8), but it is rich in nature attracting Tokyo walkers all year around.

The ONLY Valley in the Tokyo Metropolis, it is a pocket of nature and wildlife. The valley stretches for about 1 km with Yazawa river running through it. A number of water springs and streams can be seen in the ravines, but the most famous spot is, of course, the small “Fudo no Taki” waterfall in “Todoroki Fudo” temple. Although some people like to try the water found on the inner park grounds, local hygiene authorities advise the public not to drink the water.



The history of the temple goes back to Heian era centuries ago. The Todoroki Fudo temple’s adjacent waterfall has been used by Shugendo mountain ascetic practices since ancient times, and still serves as a misogi training and meditational spot for the religious. There is the old wooden temple, but also a newer modern
Shingon Manganji Temple  満願寺 別院(等々力不動尊) 
where religious studies and seminars are carried out.

The temple venerates Dainichi Nyorai, the statue of the deity (not accessible to the public) said to have been carved by Kukai a.k.a. Kobo Daishi himself. There is a statue along of the path of En no Gyoja Fudo, also said to have been made by En no Gyoja himself, and according to the Temple foundation story, Kobo Daishi had a dream in which he was told that the statue of En no Gyoja Fudo which was in Yamato-Nara at the time, had a strong connection with Musashino and so off he went, bearing the statue to Musashino, where he found our said ravine marked by auspicious clouds. There he dug a cave from which burst a stream of waterfall with a roaring sound.

The temple is surrounded by a tree grove, there is a traditional temple garden, a nearby picnic and hanami spot that you can visit as well as an ancient tomb in the valley. The researchers estimate this tomb was build about 1,300 years ago. The place is a popular spot for Tokyo walkers, especially in the summer.
- source : educationinjapan.wordpress.com

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::




Todoroki Fudo Festival 等々力不動尊青葉まつり
May 28

- Homepage of Mangan-Ji
- source : www.manganji.or.jp


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. - Join Fudo Myo-O on facebook - Fudō Myō-ō .

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Fudo Pilgrims .



[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

5/16/2014

Hozo-Ji Tochigi

[ . BACK to Daruma Museum TOP . ]
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Hoozooji 宝蔵寺 Hozo-Ji

19 光明山 摂取院 宝蔵寺 - 成田不動
Komyosan, Sesshu-In, Hozoji - Narita Fudo
Tochigi prefecture 口密の道場 - kumitsu

. 北関東三十六不動尊霊場
36 Fudo Temples in Northern Kanto .
 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


栃木県宇都宮市大通り四丁目 - Utsunomiya town

The temple has been built in 857 by Saint Ennin.
It is now located close to the station and the compound is rather small.
But its history is rather old and dates back to 857.

To quell the uprising of Taira no Masakado, a samurai 田原藤太郎秀郷 got a Fudo Statue from Takaosan Fudo Hall 高雄山神護寺不動堂 (in 939), carried it all the way to the Fudo Temple in Narita, Chiba and prayed for peace. In no time, his prayers came true and he went back to Utsunomiya to build this temple
He had a hall build to place it, called 二里山 (now 宇都宮市塙田沢 in Utsunomiya).
Another name in this old history is 寛朝大僧正 priest Kancho (916 - 998) from the temple 広沢遍照寺 Hirozawa Hensho-Ji.

In 1087 lord Utsunomiya Munetsuna 宇都宮宗綱 / 宇都宮 国綱 (1576 - 1608) built the temple Kokawadera 粉川寺 / 粉河寺 and relocated the Fudo statue to this temple.
But in 1597, lord 宇都宮國綱 Utsunomiya Kunitsuna was banned from the region and the temple declined.


During the Meiji restoration the temple found its final place where it is now, but was later lost to fire.
In 1983 the Fudo Hall was rebuilt.
The main statue is a seated Amida Nyorai 阿弥陀如来坐像.

In the Fudo Hall is also a statue of Fugen Bosatsu on a white elephant, made by sculptor Takada 高田仏師 in the Kanei period (寛政 - 1789 - 1801).


.......................................................................



source : http://blogs.yahoo.co.jp/manekineko - ayumi

Check the link for more beautiful carvings of the Fudo Hall.





statue of Fudo Myo-O made from metal
source : http://blogs.yahoo.co.jp/manekineko - ayumi

Check this link for more statues in the temple garden.


.......................................................................






Photos by Takatoshi Goto, a facebook friend - 2014 -


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::




- quote
Oyori no Kane およりの鐘 Great Bell
Hozoji Temple houses the much-loved “Oyori no Kane” bell.
On the surface of the famous bell is the tri-colored mark of the Utsunomiya clan and was originally donated by Utsunomiya Sadatsuna, the 8th head of the Utsunomiya clan. It is said the bell was moved to Hozoji Temple as part of city planning in the Showa Era and was used as a chime for reporting the time at dusk in Utsunomiya City, leading to its nickname of “Oyori no Kane” given by the people who cherished the bell.
- source : www.achikochi-kanko.jp


source : www10.plala.or.jp/VAIO

The bell is 143.3 cm high and 8 cm thick. Its mouth diameter is 80 cm.


. kane 鐘 / bonshoo 梵鐘 temple bell .

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


. Ennin 円仁 (794 - 864) .

. Taira no Masakado 平将門(平將門) (903 - 940) .

. Fugen Bosatsu 普賢菩薩 Samantabhadra .


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



omamori

- - - - - Homepage of the temple
- source : www.k36fudo.com


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- - - - - Yearly Festivals 年中行事


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


- a treasure found on the way -


Ayumi - 宇都宮の宝蔵寺
- source : blogs.yahoo.co.jp/manekinek

- - - reference - - -


:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Narita Fudo 成田不動尊 .
Temple Shinshooji 新勝寺 Shinsho-Ji

. Pilgrimages to Fudo Temples 不動明王巡礼
Fudo Myo-O Junrei - Fudo Pilgrims .



. O-Mamori お守り Amulets and talismans from Japan . 

. Japanese Temples - ABC list - .


[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::